Best of 2012: w/ Padraig, Colm & Dean from The P Affection

392775_465865136759113_1104555733_n

It’s that time of year when every music website, publication and blog (including this one) are busy compiling end of year lists. This time around, I thought I’d shift the focus to the bands and artist’s who’ve played a ‘BarryGruff Presents’ show this year and ask them for their ‘favourite album of 2012′, ‘favourite song of 2012′ & ‘favourite Irish song of the year’.

Enough chat from me, here’s the lads from The P Affection and their picks from the year that was 2012.

Favourite album of the 2012: Tennis – Young & Old

I have been crazy about Tennis since I heard Cape Dory (The fact that Alaina Moore is cute is a plus too!). Young & Old sees the gang groove a little more. Bit disappointed ‘Deep In The Woods’ wasn’t featured on the album but it really does hold its own as a collection of songs as is. Its exciting to see the band develop so much from the first album and I hope they keep things fresh for their followup. My favourite track is probably ‘Origins’. It’s the kind of track you could have as a wedding dance or play at a funeral, one of those tracks that captures the perfect melody/harmony balance too, and brings so much emotion out! (Padraig)

Favorite Song of 2012: The Cribs – ‘Chi-Town’

2008 saw the beginning of my love affair with The Cribs. I had swapped iPods with one of the lads and the rest is history!. Like most Cribs tracks, ‘Chi-Town’ is punchy, quick and full of hooks that just make it catchy as fuck! I was blown away the first time I heard it and every time since I can’t help but tap along. This track is full of that Jarman brother charm that give it serious re-listen-ability, Hook central. (Colm)

Favourite Irish album of 2012: Funeral Suits – Lily Of The Land

Mad about Funeral Suits. This is a deadly album! I had heard them first, back in the day, when they supported The Breeders in Vicar Street. The standout tracks are probably ‘Colour Fade’ and ‘All Those Friendly People’. Savage live show too! (Dean)

Leave a comment