Digitalism – ‘Blitz EP’

‘Blitz’ is the hotly anticipated new track from long-awaited new EP from electro heavyweights Digitalism. The German duo set the world alight with debut album Idealism in 2007. They look set to pick up from where they left off with grossly flamboyant tunes full of malevolent synths designed to get folks dancing – let’s hope we see an album in near future.

Have a listen to the title track and see what you think?

Blitz EP includes remixes from Harvard Bass and Villa and is out via Kitsune on November 8th.

Digitalism – Blitz via Audiopleasures

New: Tapes n’ Tapes – ‘Freak Out’

Freakout is the new single from Minneapolis indie rockers Tapes ‘n Tapes. It’s a taster from their forthcoming third album Outside set for release in early 2010.

It’s sounding like a triumphant return to the form of their spellbinding debut The Loon, following the less than spectacular follow-up Walk It Off in 2008. It’s sounding a little more folky than their reknowned lo-fi asthetics with some frenetic chugging guitars.

Take a listen and make your own mind up.

Outside is out on Ibid Records January 11th 2011 – tracklisting after the jump.

Tapes n’ Tapes – Freak Out via halfchanel

Continue reading

Gruff Rhys – ‘Shark Ridden Waters’

Super Furries frontman Gruff Rhys seems perpetually busy but he’s taken time to focus attention on his solo work. Rhys’ latest single ‘Shark Ridden Waters’, taken from his upcoming third album due in February is available free from his website and will be released on 12″ on 5 November.

He sounds in fine form as usual with this shimmering and rhythmically soothing little gem, things are looking well for the album in 2011.

He’s announced a string of Irish tour dates too, check them the jump.

Gruff Rhys – Shark Ridden Waters

Continue reading

Free Download: The Narcoleptic Dancers

The Narcoleptic Dancers are half brother and sister duo Anton Louis Jr and Melody Van Kappers, who’s fresh catchy indie folk has already seen comparisons to Slow Club, Nouvelle Vague and The Moldy Peaches.

They are giving away the title track from their debut EP ‘Not Evident’, out November 8th, as a tater of things to come. Sounding good so far.

Check out the video to ‘Not Evident’ from a few weeks back too.

The Narcoleptic Dancers – Not Evident

Röyksopp – ‘I Wanna Know’

Norwegian electro duo Röyksopp have unleashed live-show and fan-favorite ‘I Wanna Know’, (that’s what we’ve been told anyway) as part of their free ‘Track of the Month’ project in their website.

It marks a return to their reknowned energetic, jolly and bouncy electro following the release of the darker and more introverted Senior this year.

Grab it below while you can.

Röyksopp – I Wanna Know

Video: The Lowly Knights – ‘Burning Powder’

‘Burning Powder’ is taken from Belfast folk ensemble The Lowly Knights third record, The Even Keel EP, released yesterday. It follows the wonderful Hollow EP earlier in the year.

The video was written and directed by Phil Harrison and with all parts played by members of the band. You can listen/Buy the EP on bandcamp.

Upcoming Dublin shows:

Oct 27 – The Mercantile | Dublin
Nov 19 – State mag VS. AU mag @ The Mercantile | Dublin
Dec 15 – Trinity Chapel | Dublin

Uffie – ‘Difficult’ (Remixes)

Young Parisian MC/songstress Uffie featured on the blog last week with her superb new single ‘Difficult‘. Unsurprisingly it’s been receiving a facelift with two quality remixes from Ed Banger label mate and collaborator SebastiAn and Azari & III.

I’m still not convinced by her debut album Sex Dreams and Denim Jeans but ‘Difficult’ is as catchy and it is simplistic. It’s easy to foresee this becoming a staple for remixers across the globe but we are unlikely to get two of such quality within such close proximity.

Any thoughts?

Uffie – Difficult (2006 Parties Remix by SebastiAn)

Uffie – Difficult (Azari & III Remix)