Video: Milan Jay – Robot Revenge

We came into contact with Milan Jay last month with them as they were putting the finishing touches to their third EP inside of 12 months.

Marking the occasion with a free single, the Galwegian band have now released a video for ‘Robot Revenge’. The video works really well with the super catchy guitar-driven rock n roll of the track.

‘Robot Revenge’ is taken from Milan Jay’s third EP, released on Friday 25 November 25. You can download the track here for free.  

Factory Floor – ‘Two Different Ways (Second Way)’

Last week Factory Floor unveiled their brand new DFA Records single, ‘Two Different Ways’.

Now the talented London trio have unleashed the b-side, ‘Two Different Ways (Second Way)’, a heady mix of snappy beats, pulsating synths and relentless percussives. Much like it’s a-side counterpart this is an absolute beast of a tune, it’s true charm is it subtly which will worm it’s way inside your head an command your complete and full attention. Thats my story over the past 24 hours anyway. 

If you are in London Factory Floor will play the Sub Sonic launch at the Garage tomorrow night, 18th November.

Buy Two Different Ways on 12″ at the DFA shop. Listen to the a-side below too, or read about it here.

 Factory Floor – ‘Two Different Ways (Second Way)’

 Factory Floor – Two Different Ways

Adultrock – ‘Ripe Ripe’

Surely I can’t be the only one wondering where We Are Losers‘ frontman Gavin Elsted finds the time? If he isn’t winning people over with We Are Losers’ glorious lo-fi fuzz pop, he’s making super electronica under his Adultrock alias.

Last week he dropped a brand new cut ‘Ripe Ripe’, from the soothing percussion to the undeniably cheery vibe ‘Ripe Ripe’ will permeate ever inch of conciseness. This is exemplary stuff which embodies the very essence of why Adultrock is an extremely worthwhile venture. Lets hope we hear much more from this side of Elsted’s psyche in future. 

Catch him on We Are Losers duty this Friday, 18 November supporting Dutch Uncles in Academy 2.

Download: Adultrock – Ripe Ripe

Cast – See That Girl

Since reforming last year Cast have been busy recording their fifth album and their first since 2001 with John Leckie (The Stone Roses, Radiohead & The Coral).

Funded through PledgeMusic Troubled Times is due out physically in early 2012. Preceding the albums’ release is brand new single ‘See That Girl’ which revives their penchant for melodic and beautifully written songs of their debut All Change.

News of the reformation, beyond playing a few gigs, was greeted with trepidation. Going by ‘See That Girl’ these concerns would appear to be in vain. Is it really that surprising?  After all Power has released three great solo albums over the last decade (Happening for Love (2003), Willow She Weeps (2006) and Stormbreaker (2008)).

‘See That Girl’ is out on December 19th 2011.

Cast – See That Girl

The Rifles – Freedom Run

The Rifles have returned with their long awaited third album, Freedom Run. It sees them transform the spiky early Jam-influenced sounds of their previous two albums, to a much richer, fuller and more varied sound.

While there is still a nod to mod and ’60s sound, their rough and ready street-wise attitude has been traded for sweeping, soft-centred indie. The album boasts a smart collection of overwhelmingly uplifting, positive and catchy songs full of bright harmonies and even brighter guitars.

This newly smoothed out production style and luscious sound is brought to life with ‘Sweetest Thing’, ‘Tangled Up In Love’ and ‘Coming Home’, three sumptuous slices of indie. It would be difficult task to seek out a more captivating song in 2011 than country tinged ‘Love Is The Key’. This is an album smothered in the ’60s influences with elements of The Kinks, Bob Dylan and John Lennon being found throughout, but, most obviously on ‘Eveline’, ‘Nothing Matters’ and ‘Falling’.

The rejigged line-up appears to have done them no harm at all. If their debut No Love Lost was rough and ready, Great Escape more polished, well then Freedom Run sees them embracing their sweet, shimmering indie-selves in full. A life changing masterpiece it is certainly is not, but, give it half a chance and it’s sheer sweetness will seduce you.

The Rifles – Love Is They Key

The Rifles – Coming Home

Field Music – (I Keep Thinking About) A New Thing

Sunderland duo Field Music are to return in early 2012 with fourth album, Plumb.

To whet the appetite they’ve shared ‘(I Keep Thinking About) A New Thing’ with the world. It sounds as though they are picking up where they left off last year with Measure. It is a bright and infectious indie tune filled with sumptuous vocal harmonies. You can stream the track below or download it for free from their website.

Plumb is out on 13th February 2012.

 Field Music – (I Keep Thinking About) A New Thing

Factory Floor – ‘Two Different Ways’

London trio Factory Floor have announced the release of a brand new single on DFA Records.

New single ‘Two Different Ways’ is a pulsating electronic tune with a percussive mix of cowbells, mechanical kicks and snares and heavy hypnotic synthline.

‘Two Different Ways’ is out on 12″ on November 14th – check it out below.

 Factory Floor – Two Different Ways

King Krule – ‘Portrait In Black & Blue’

‘Portrait In Black & Blue’ is the second track to be taken from King Krule’s new self-titled EP.

We have already heard ‘The Noose Of Jah City’ (listen here) and we find the former Zoo Kid, Archy Marshall, once again sounding  well beyond his tender age of 17 years.

The King Krule EP is out 7 November via True Panther.

Hear some of his previous work as Zoo Kid posted earlier in the year too.

 King Krule – Portrait In Black & Blue

Video: Breton – Edward the Confessor

Multi-instrumental Londoners, Breton, have returned with yet another super slice of visual and musical experimentation. 

‘Edward the Confessor’ is the first single to be taken from their forthcoming debut album (expect in early 2012). It is a mix of both urgent and infectious beats with a hint of a hazy lo-fi vibe. The video works ever so well with the single and features shots from photographer/film-maker Niall O’Brien’s recent ‘Anger’ exhibition.

‘Edward the Confessor’ is due out on Fat Cat Records on 21st November 2011. Their debut album Other People’s Problems will follow in early 2012.

Introducing: Girl Band

Girl Band are Dublin-based four-piece who make a racket to be reckoned with.

Having joined forces this summer, they embrace a shared love of all things punk rock. ‘Twelves’ is a minute and a half salvo of thunderous aggression while ‘Second One’ metes out a substantial dose of fuzzed up fury. Also lead singer Dara Kiely’s vocals slide between a subdued murmur to the ear-splitting and shrill with an effortless ease. 

Granted, it is obviously early days with a mere two songs and handful of gigs under their belt. Such is the quality however, we should be in for an interesting few months especially as they hope to record a debut EP in the new year.

Catch Girl Band in The Grand Social, Dublin for free on December 7th with Tandem Felix and Peaks.

Download: Girl Band – Twelves

Download: Girl Band – Second One

Willie Burns – Windows Down

Brooklyn producer Willie Burns has spent the best part of a decade honing his craft under various different guises.

Burns’ latest EP s/t, is the second under the Burns moniker, of 2011 and has just been released. The EP includes ‘Windows Down’, a simply gorgeous house track with a real twist. It may have been the comical nature of the name which drew me in but wow, what a tune!

via Red Threat